Press and Notices


Texas 4-H Youth Water Ambassadors Program Opens Applications for 2023-2024 Cohort

March 17, 2023 – For Immediate Release

The Texas 4-H Water Ambassadors Program was formed in 2017 in an effort to educate youth about water resources in Texas. Every spring, up to 30 high school students are selected to participate in a summer 4-H2O Leadership Academy. Students travel throughout Texas to learn how water is collected, conveyed, treated, conserved, and managed to meet the need of our economy and citizenry.

To reinforce knowledge gained during the academy, water ambassadors pass on that information to others as they engage in various education and service activities throughout the year. Through the program, ambassadors gain insight into water law, policy, planning, and management as they interact with representatives from state water agencies, educators, policy-makers, and water resource managers. Ambassadors also gain an appreciation for the complexity of managing Texas surface and groundwater resources, its importance to local, regional, and state economies, and the importance of protecting this valuable resource for future generations.

“It is essential that we invest today in tomorrow’s water industry leaders and decision-makers” stated Extension Program Specialist II for the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, David Smith.

Applications for the 2023-2024 cohort of Texas 4-H Youth Water Ambassador are open through May 1, 2023. Continuing for the fifth year, the 4-H Water Ambassador Program continues to grow in number and continues to gain recognition and support from the Texas water industry. To date, 158 youth have served as 4-H Water Ambassadors conducting 10,655 hours of ambassador education and service.

“The District is proud to support this youth leadership organization and provide the opportunity for young people to nurture their passion and knowledge for management of natural resources in Texas,” stated PGCD General Manager, Kathy Turner Jones. Currently, the District is sponsoring three ambassadors representing Hill and Johnson counties.

To be eligible for the 2023-2024 cohort, students must be considered senior level (grades 9-12) 4-H members in the
2023-2024 academic year, and possess a genuine interest in natural resources, water stewardship, leadership, and service. Selected ambassadors must participate in the Tier I 4-H2O Leadership Academy, June 11-17, 2023, and be able to commit to at least 40 hours of education and service during the 12-month program. Service hours include delivering water education at local 4-H clubs, schools, and community events.

For more information and how to apply visit: If you have any questions or are interested in the leadership program, contact the PGCD office 817-556-2299.