

PRESS RELEASE

Prairielands GCD General Manager Appointed to Regional Water Planning Group

March 4, 2021 – For Immediate Release

In a public meeting on March 3, 2021, Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District General Manager, Kathy Turner Jones, was appointed by the Executive Committee of the Brazos G Regional Water Planning Group to represent Water District Interests within the 37-county planning area located in central Texas.

"I am looking forward to this opportunity to represent the many interests and efforts of groundwater districts in the region," Jones said, "and to play a direct part in managing water resources for generations to come."

Jones previously served as a voting representative for Region H Regional Water Planning group from 2011 to 2019 representing Groundwater Management Area 14, as well as being past president of the Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts and is the current president-elect for the Texas Water Conservation Association. She has been the General Manager of the Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District since April 2019, which was created by the 81st Texas Legislature to conserve, protect and enhance the groundwater resources in Ellis, Hill, Johnson and Somervell Counties.

The Brazos G Regional Water Planning Group is one of the 16 regional planning groups established by the Texas Water Development Board to develop a regional water plan to provide for the orderly development, management, and conservation of water resources and drought preparation and response. Brazos G has been working since 1998 to develop a comprehensive regional water plan for its planning area, including Bell, Bosque, Brazos, Burleson, Callahan, Comanche, Coryell, Eastland, Erath, Falls, Fisher, Grimes, Hamilton, Haskell, Hill, Hood, Johnson, Jones, Kent, Knox, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, McLennan, Milam, Nolan, Palo Pinto, Robertson, Shackelford, Somervell, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, Throckmorton, Washington, Williamson and Young.

###

Contact: Sinclaire Newby Public Relations and Education Director 817-556-2299 sinclaire@prairielandsgcd.org

Kathy Turner Jones – General Manager Charles Beseda – President Dennis Erinakes – 1st Vice President

Randy Kirk – 2nd Vice President Maurice Osborn – Secretary/Treasurer Marty McPherson - Director Paul Tischler – Director John Curtis – Director Kent Smith – Director