

PRESS RELEASE

Curtis Appointed to Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District Board of Directors

February 5, 2020 - For Immediate Release

CLEBURNE – In a public meeting on January 27, 2020, John Curtis of Walnut Springs, TX took his oath of office as a director on the Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District Board of Directors. Curtis was appointed by the Somervell County Commissioners Court in a meeting on January 13, 2020.

Curtis has a distinguished background of service in Somervell County. He is an Army veteran who served in Vietnam, and had a successful career working for TXU at the Comanche Peak Nuclear Power Plant in Glen Rose, where he was the radiation protection manager and served on the emergency organizations at the plant. He retired in 2006, and in January 2011 began his tenure as a Somervell County commissioner for eight years. While a county commissioner, he served as the public information officer for the emergency operations center, served on the board of directors for the then county-owned hospital, and was on the board of directors for the Somervell County Central Appraisal District.

The Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District's Board of Directors consist of eight members, two from each county, who are appointed by the county commissioners' courts to serve unpaid, four-year terms. The District is committed to manage and protect the groundwater resources within Ellis, Hill, Johnson and Somervell Counties and to work with others to ensure a sustainable, adequate, high quality, and cost-effective supply of water, now and in the future. Find out more about the District and ways to conserve water by visiting www.prairielandsgcd.org.

###

Contact: Sinclaire Newby Public Relations and Education Director 817-556-2299 sinclaire@prairielandsgcd.org

Kathy Turner Jones – General Manager Charles Beseda – President Dennis Erinakes – 1st Vice President

Randy Kirk – 2nd Vice President Maurice Osborn – Secretary/Treasurer Marty McPherson - Director Paul Tischler – Director John Curtis – Director Kent Smith – Director